Group coordinators can edit group settings: Profile, Privacy and Permissions.
To edit your group settings, open the Options menu on the group page and select Edit Group Settings.
Your group profile consists of your group name and group description.
The description gives new members a clear understanding of what that group is for. When adding a group description, describe what your group intends to do, for example, "A public group for us to approve requests for use of the gallery space" or "The space for our board members to consider budget proposals".
Your privacy settings determine who can find your group, who can see the threads in your group, and how people join.
The default privacy setting for new groups is Closed: anyone can find the group and ask to join. Only members can see who is in the group. Threads can be public or private. This means people can find your group and ask to join, but the content of your discussions and decisions is private, unless you allow public threads (explained in the Group permissions section below).
If you want the content of your discussions and decisions to be public, change your group privacy to Open. The members list will only be visible to other members.
If you want to hide your group, set your group privacy to Secret. This will mean only invited members will be able to see the group name, description, members list, and threads.
NB: If you have a Secret group and change it to Open, all threads will become public. Changing an Open group to Secret will make all threads private.
Group permissions – what can members do?
Coordinators set the group permissions to configure what members can do in their group.
Allow public threads
In Closed groups, you can use this option to allow public and private threads in your group. When you start a thread, you can decide whether it will be public or private.
Invite and approve new members
This allows everyone in your group to invite new people in, and approve any membership requests. When it is deselected only group coordinators will be able to invite and approve new members.
This allows everyone in your group to create subgroups. When it is deselected only group coordinators will be able to create subgroups.
This allows everyone in your group to start new threads. When it is deselected only group coordinators will be able to start discussions.
Edit the context of any thread in the group
This allows everyone in your group to edit the context of any thread. When it is deselected only group coordinators and the thread author will be able to edit the thread context.
Edit their comments at any time
This allows everyone in your group to edit their comments at any time. When it is deselected, a comment can only be edited until someone else participates in the thread.
This allows anyone in your group to start a proposal within a thread. When this box is deselected only group coordinators will be able to raise proposals.
Vote on proposals
This allows everyone in your group to state their position on proposals. When it is deselected only group coordinators will be able to state their position on proposals.